#InPictures: New Supreme Court and High Court judges formally appointed

President Michael D. Higgins has formally appointed new judges to the Supreme Court and the High Court.

Ms Justice Marie Baker has been appointed to the Supreme Court, filling the vacancy created by the retirement of Mrs Justice Susan Denham.

Meanwhile, Brian O’Moore SC, Mark Sanfey SC, Mary Rose Gearty SC, Niamh Hyland SC and solicitor Mark Heslin have been appointed to the High Court.

The vacancies have arisen due to the elevation of Ms Justice Aileen Donnelly, Mr Justice Seamus Noonan, Ms Justice Mary Faherty, Mr Justice Robert Haughton and Ms Justice Úna Ní Raifeartaigh to the Court of Appeal.

Tags: In pictures

Related posts