Maples Group asset finance team recognised at New York awards

Donna Ager and Mary O'Neill
Pictured (L-R): Donna Ager and Mary O’Neill

Irish solicitors Donna Ager and Mary O’Neill are among the members of the Maples Group global asset finance team which won recognition at a New York awards ceremony yesterday.

Ms Ager, a partner based in London who leads the Irish asset finance team, and Ms Mary, a partner in Dublin, are among seven lawyers who worked on deals which won recognition at the 2019 Airfinance Journal Awards.

The four award-winning deals were:

  • M&A Deal of the Year for advice provided to Goshawk Aviation on its acquisition of Irish lessor Sky Aviation International from the Public Sector Pension Board;
  • Lessor Unsecured Bond Deal of the Year for advice provided to HNA Group-owned lessor Avolon on the Cayman Islands and Irish aspects of its private offering of $1 billion Rule 144A 5.125 per cent senior notes due 2023;
  • North America Deal of the Year for advice provided to Zephyrus Aviation Capital on the launch of its $366.6 million Zephyrus Capital Aviation Partners 2018-1 Ltd; and
  • Overall Deal of the Year for advice provided to Avolon, in relation to ORIX Corporation’s acquisition of a 30 per cent stake in the company from Bohai Capital.

The Maples Group’s asset finance team is comprised of legal and fiduciary experts across offices in the British Virgin Islands, the Cayman Islands, Dubai, Dublin, Hong Kong, London and Singapore.

Mark Western, global head of asset finance, said: “We are extremely proud to be recognised once again for our work on high profile and innovative international transactions such as these.

“It further demonstrates our ability to provide first class legal advice and fiduciary services in this area, and the successful execution of these deals would not have been possible without the exceptional team of aviation experts at the Group, and of course the support of our loyal and trusted clients.”

Other team members involved in the winning deals were Sherice Arman, Barnabas Finnigan, Shari McField, Jonathon Meloy and Anthony Philp.

Related posts